Morphe 12 Soul of Summer Eyeshadow Palette: Review and Swatches

Mini Review: Morphe’s soul of summer palette has definitely been my go to palette throughout the whole of summer and will continue to be so into fall. The 12 shimmer shades range from pink and gold champagnes to deep coppers, and rich burgundy and orange. You are guaranteed to love this palette if you love an intense smoky eye or a natural glow – or both! The one downside of the palette is there are no mattes so if you want a full on eye look that requires lots of blending you may need to outsource to find a transition shade (a shade u lay down in the crease to make blending easier and more seamless). 

When I’m travelling so don’t have my makeup collection with me or I just can’t be bothered to rifle through my things I find any matte bronzer works well as a transition shade when using this palette, or even as just the crease colour! 
I don’t believe a crease colour MUST MUST be matte, many beauty bloggers profess it as some greater truth but I think it is just one of those makeup rules that were made to be broken. You could create millions of beautiful looks ONLY using this palette.

The Formula The shadows are soo buttery! I was so surprised at how good the quality was when I received this in the mail. I got this palette from beautybay.co.uk (love love the site so much) for £11.95 and initially only bought it for a month of backpacking – I didn’t want to take my beloved chocolate bar or naked palettes on a trip where they could potentially have been smashed to smithereens. The first ingredient is talc which is somewhat noticeable in some of the shades, but overall they are not chalky, highly pigmented and blend like a dream – just as good as many high end eyeshadow palettes. I do think a good eye primer is essential though, I like to use Urban Decay’s Primer Potion. (£16 – if you don’t want to spend too much on a primer you can buy the travel size version from Debenhams for only £8!)

Swatches
I love all of these shades so much for different reasons! I used flash for these photos so you could see the beautiful reflects, but also because I run my blog completely through my phone and my phone camera without the flash did not do these shades justice! 

Shade 1 and 2 for some reason swatch horribly on me 😦 but this may just be because I’m very pale as on the lid they look lovely. 

My most used shade has to be shade number 3, it is the perfect natural-but-not-too-natural subtly pink champagne, I love this packed onto the lid with lots of mascara, and sometimes a bit of Benefit’s Hoola bronzer (£23.50) worked into the crease to deepen the look and make my eyes appear bigger. 

Shade 8 also stands out to me as a really unique shade, it is not the most usable but the colour payoff is incredible and has a reflect reminiscent of the makeup Greek duo chrome shadows. 

I also love shades 10, 11 and 12, they really make your eye look unique and are perfect for fall and winter, I love subtly blending these shades on the lower lash line with a more natural shadow look on the lid.
Ultimately I 100% recommend, for the price and the quality it’s a 10/10 palette. I will be posting some makeup tutorials for this palette ASAP. For now please give this post a like if you enjoyed it, please ask me any questions in the comments – I would love to hear from you all, listen to your feedback and I would also love to check out your blogs too! xo CH

This amazing palette is currently sold out on beautybay but it will be back in stock, I will keep you updated. For now, if you can’t wait, you may be interested in this similar palette from morphe: http://www.beautybay.com/cosmetics/morphebrushes/12nbnaturalbeautypalette/

20 thoughts on “Morphe 12 Soul of Summer Eyeshadow Palette: Review and Swatches

  1. This review was well done! The colours are beautiful, I especially love shade no.8. I keep hearing so many bad things about Morphe but here is a positive review, definitely considering purchasing from this brand now.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I hear quite a few beauty gurus complain about the quality and the fact that there is such a high concentration of talc in the product, but others say they’re good and I know they’re affordable so l’ll try it out.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah talc is a big ingredient but I still find them really buttery, and for that low price I think it will be hard to come across eye shadows which have the highest of quality ingredients! Definitely try this one though, I think it’s better than the rest x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment